being charlie and gondry

I like my header. It’s a screen grab from one of my favorite films, Being John Malkovich. It was written by the brilliant Charlie Kaufman, who also wrote The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind–it’s one of the most beautiful love stories ever written and made. Well, what else do you get from a Kaufman-written screenplay that’s directed by Michel Gondry? It’s always so brilliant, it’s already predictable.

My header tells me, You’re not a writer. My site stats tell me, You have 0 views today. And I’m not annoyed at all. There’s a reason I googled Being John Malkovich and used a frame from that film as my header. Because I know I’m not a writer, but often these days, I forget, that I’m going to be somebody else: not a writer, nor a planner-maker, nor an entrepreneur.

I take a look at John and Catherine again, bending over on the 7 1/2 floor. I smile, relieved. As long as I know why I have this as my header, then I’m fine, baby.

Leave a Reply

